Security Code

Security is a top priority for America’s chemical producers. Responsible Care® companies are leaders in chemical security and work closely with federal, state and local intelligence authorities to safeguard our communities.

The Responsible Care Security Code is recognized by local, state and federal governments as a model security program for chemical facilities and other U.S. industries. Through Responsible Care®, ACC member companies have enhanced coordination, conducted training and safety drills, and shared important security information with local emergency response teams. 

The Security Code predates federal security regulations and has served as a model for subsequent regulatory action under the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Chemical Facility Anti-terrorism Standards program. In addition, DHS has recognized the Security Code as a Qualified Anti-Terrorism Technology.

Under the Security Code’s 13 management practices companies must conduct comprehensive security vulnerability assessments (SVAs) and implement security enhancements. Companies also must obtain independent verification to prove they have made required physical site security measures identified during the SVA.

After completing the SVA process, companies implement security enhancements to control or mitigate identified risks to facility, cyber and value chain security, based on the 13 management practices, which address:

  • Leadership Commitment
  • Analysis of Threats, Vulnerabilities, and Consequences
  • Implementation of Security Measures
  • Information and Cyber Security
  • Documentation of security management programs, processes, and procedures
  • Training, Drills, and Guidance
  • Communications, Dialogue, and Information Exchange
  • Response to Security Threats
  • Response to Security Incidents
  • Audits
  • Third-Party Verification
  • Management of Change
  • Continuous Improvement